Commitment to quality

Adirondack Medical Center is accredited by two national accreditation bodies, the Joint Commission and the American Osteopathic Association, demonstrating the hospital's commitment to patient safety and quality patient care.

The Joint Commission
By demonstrating compliance with the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organization's national standards for health care quality and safety, Adirondack Medical Center has earned the Joint Commission's "Gold Seal of Approval".

Every three years, an on-site comprehensive survey is completed to assure Adirondack Medical Center adheres to more than 500 Joint Commission standards. Surveyors, including an administrator, physician and nurse, reviews leadership, nursing, medical staff, environment of care, infection control, medication management, information management and performance improvement.

"We sought accreditation for our organization because we want to demonstrate our commitment to patient safety and quality care," says Chandler M. Ralph, President and CEO. "We view obtaining Joint Commission accreditation as another step toward achieving excellence."

Founded in 1951, the Joint Commission is dedicated to continuously improving the safety and quality of the nation's health care through voluntary accreditation. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 15,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 8,200 hospitals. An independent, not-for-profit organization, the Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards setting and accrediting body in health care.

Chandler Ralph speaks of her pride in Adirondack Medical Center staff whose members ask what needs to be done to be accredited by the Joint Commission. "In addition, they appreciate the educational aspect of the survey and the opportunity to interact with the team of surveyors." She called the accreditation "proof of an organization-wide commitment to provide quality care on an ongoing basis."

Joint Commission Public Notice
The Joint Commission conducts accreditation surveys of organizations to determine their compliance with nationally established Joint Commission standards. These standards deal with organization quality, safety-of-care issues, and the safety of the environment in which care is provided. Anyone believing that they have issues concerning safety and quality of care in this orgnaization on a continuous basis are encouraged to contact the organization's management. If the concerns in question cannot be solved at this level, then the Joint Commission may be contacted as stated below.

Division of Accreditation Operations
Office of Quality Monitoring
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
One Renaissance Boulevard
Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181

Fax Number: (630) 792-5636

E-mail to: complaint@jcaho.org

The American Osteopathic Association
In January 2006, Adirondack Medical Center was granted accreditation by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) through its Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP). This voluntary accreditation enabled Adirondack Medical Center to achieve the honor of becoming a Rural Referral Center (RRC).

Securing HFAP accreditation is evidence of Adirondack Medical Center's continuing commitment to maintaining the highest standards of patient care. Because it is founded in the Medicare Conditions of Participation for Hospitals, HFAP accreditation also helps assure compliance with governmental regulations.

The AOA's Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program has been providing medical facilities with an objective review of their services since 1945. HFAP surveyors are experienced healthcare professionals, many of whom are also active practitioners in their chosen specialties.

"The federal government continues to recognize the HFAP as one of the premier voluntary accreditation organizations," said George A. Reuther, HFAP director. "This shows that HFAP accreditation remains a validation that a facility is meeting or exceeding the standards of quality set by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS).